storytimewithbuffy

Wednesday catch-up

In Uncategorized on August 21, 2013 at 6:56 am

Soooo, this is awkward. It’s Wednesday and I don’t still don’t have a book to tell you about. Do you know what this means? It means that I’ve been reading THE SAME BOOK for OVER a week!! Oh my days…

Luckily, I’m not behind on my Goodreads goal of reading 61 books this year. In fact, I’m still 11 books ahead of  schedule so we don’t have to panic. Yet.

Anyway, not having a book to talk about means that I’ll just have to talk to you about me. (Sorry…)

Something cool happened last Wednesday that I completely neglected to mention to you. I met one of my Goodreads friends, in person, for lunch! We struck up a friendship on Goodreads and it progressed to the point where we exchanged email addresses and would talk about our writing. It was really exciting having another writer that I really connected with and we bounced ideas off of each other. After getting to know each other through email and eventually facebook, we finally swapped writing. I can’t begin to tell you how huge of a step this was for me. Until that point, I hadn’t let anyone I wasn’t married to read my writing.

It turned out that she was visiting London last week. Of course it coincided with what is turning out to be the busiest part of my year, but we managed to coordinate schedules and have lunch. It was so much fun! I wished that I could have met her in the evening and had more time to talk, but I’ve really been pushing myself to study every night so we had to settle for lunch. But, even so, it was a lovely way to spend an afternoon and I’m really glad we both made the effort to meet up.

So, I’ve been studying like a crazy woman and none of it feels like it’s sinking in. There’s so much information in a such a small amount of time. Nine days until the exam. Yikes! I’ll be taking my exam at the same time with two of my colleagues and we’re all entering panic mode. One of them quizzed me on some of the information yesterday and I drew a complete blank. Not to worry, though. Four out of the nine days include a weekend, a Bank holiday and a study day. I should be ok.

I guess that’s every thing.

Before I sign off, I wanted to give a shout out to a few other bloggers I’ve been following. I’ve really been loving the atmosphere here on WordPress and have met some of the nicest people. So here are the top 6 people who have commented on my blog:

H. Anthe Davis http://warofmemory.wordpress.com/

ManofYesterday http://manofyesterday.wordpress.com/

Claudia McGill http://claudiamcgill.wordpress.com/

Revolution For Breakfast http://revolutionforbreakfast.com/

Erica Dakin http://theftandsorcery.wordpress.com/

Lindseysurratt http://swimlindsey.wordpress.com/

Please check out their blogs. They are readers, writers, poets and just really nice people. Oh, and they’re actually talking about books/writing. *Hangs my head in shame*

I guess now we’re all caught up. I will definitely have a book to talk about for Sunday. Thanks for sticking with me through these difficult times.

 

  1. I liked this post, It is always great to read a bit about a person and not just there reviews. I am happy that you showed someone else your work, that was a big step for me as well.

    I hope they liked it and am looking forward to updates

    • Thanks! I really appreciate that. I’m a bit reluctant to talk about myself. It’s much easier to talk about books, so it’s good to know that you like my non-book posts.

      It was very nerve-wracking to let someone else read my work. It was a positive experience so I’ll be more inclined to do so more in the future.

      Thanks very much for your comments! 🙂

  2. Awww. I’ve always wanted to meet some people I knew online. Tsk. You are lucky.

  3. Good luck studying, Buffy!! I’m studying for the LSAT, so I feel your pain on the study grind for a big exam. 😦 It’s awesome that you got to meet a Goodreads friend offline, though! 🙂

  4. Thats such a lovely story and serves to prove that Goodreads is the source of everything good! 😉 Don’t stress about your exam and I tell you this knowing you will stress anyway but you will do great! It’s normal to be nervous in fact if you weren’t telling us how freaked out you were I would be a little worried about your results. But your nervousness shows that you are taking this exam seriously and I can tell you’re a smart person and you have the Impressionists there in London rooting for you, so really, you will pass with flying colors!

    Also, thank you for the link that was very nice of you! 🙂

    • Haha! I hadn’t thought of the Impressionists being on my side. That’s a great way to think about it! Thanks for the pep talk! I’m doing my best. 🙂

      And yes, Goodreads is fantastic as is WordPress. The people on these sites are so much nicer than they are on other social media sites. I feel like I’m actually engaging with and getting to know people.

      Thanks for being awesome!

  5. Hey, don’t sweat the lack of book reviews! I just had friends over for two weeks and I still haven’t recovered enough to have the brainpower for a post.

    And visiting internet friends is great. I’ve gone to England and Finland to visit some of mine; it’s always fun.

    • I think that I’m mostly sweating the lack of recreational book reading in my life. haha! It’s tragic.

      Hope you recover your brain power soon. I’m loving your detailed posts.

      That’s great that you’ve travelled so far to meet internet friends. I remember when it was a scary thing to meet someone online, but now it’s great to meet someone that you most likely wouldn’t ever meet otherwise. The future is here! 🙂

  6. Don’t worry, Buffy, we won’t hold it against you… yet. BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.
    Okay no seriously, I think we’re all just channeling our bloggy energies into kick-ass wishes for your exam 🙂 You’re so dedicated to it that I know it’ll pay off! Keep on keeping on! And thank you for mentioning my blog! 😀

  7. Thank you so much. i appreciate your time.I really enjoy this post.

Have something to say? Please get in touch!