storytimewithbuffy

On life changes and writing

In My Writing on September 7, 2014 at 11:34 am

So, things are happening in the world of Buffy. I do have two posts to write on books, but I’ll save those for another day. Recently, I’ve had a big success as well as a…ummm…non-success. (The word ‘failure’ makes me cringe. But also, it’s not really that big of a deal.)

We’ll start with the non-success first.

Back in June, I submitted a short story to a competition and I just found out this past week that I didn’t win. I wasn’t as disappointed as I thought I would be though. I’ve never been good at handling rejection and that’s one of the things that, in the past, has put me off about writing. The thought of bleeding my heart and soul onto paper and then having someone say ‘Nope, don’t like it’ has always been a horrifying thing for me. (This is pretty much the reason that I don’t slate books that I don’t like on my blog. I’m hoping that I’m gathering enough karma points so that people are gentle with my work. I know that it doesn’t work that way, but a girl can hope.) The more I’ve been writing, however, the braver I’ve become. I’ve let more and more people actually read my writing and I’ve been less scared of what they think. I think that I’ve now reached the point where I’m not as sensitive. What’s the point of being afraid anyway? Just freaking do it and get on with your life.

And there are other competitions. I think that I’ll revamp my story at some point and resubmit to a different one.

On to my big success. This past Friday was my last day at work. It’s been a long time coming, but I’ve finally found a new job. I’ve been massively unhappy in the role that I’ve been in for the past 3 1/2 years and I finally bit the bullet and looked for something new. I’ve gotta say, my writing suffered massively during this time. I’ve found it impossible to apply for jobs and be creative at the same time. Luckily, I found my new job quite quickly.

I’ve now been writing again. For realsies. I have a feeling that I’ll get a lot further than I have before because I’m much happier at the moment. I’m not the sort of writer who thrives on being miserable. My creativity is stoked when I’m in a happy place.

Also, I bought a new notebook to organise all of my thoughts for my story. It turns out that I’ve been keeping all of my notes in many different places so I’ve been compiling them so that they’re all together. It’s hard to build a world and keep all of your characters straight when everything is on bits of paper or in other notebooks. Although, I will say that this probably shouldn’t be referred to as a ‘notebook’ as it’s more like a journal or record log. It’s far too beautiful to be a notebook.

Behold:

Bought at the National Maritime Museum in Greenwich. Because I love museum gift shops. And it's awesome.

Bought at the National Maritime Museum in Greenwich. Because I love museum gift shops. And it’s awesome.

So that’s what’s happening in the world of Buffy these days. I shall see you on Wednesday with a book post!

  1. Um, “not winning” is by no means even remotely in the same ballpark as being “non successful”. Out of all good stories submitted, there can only be one winner, but the field is full of exceptional candidates. If that wasn’t the case, there would be little pride in winning. 🙂

    Congrats on the new job. Being stuck in a job situation you don’t like can be quite soul draining.

    Your new ‘notebook’ looks like it could be the focus of a story creation in itself- such as names written in that weathered looking journal become magically transported to one of the ancient ships of yore. 🙂

    • Thank you! Those are wise words indeed. I also feel proud of the work I did on my short story, regardless of the fact that it didn’t win as well as the added bonus of actually finishing something on time. 🙂

      Yes! That’s what I love about it! I imagine it being just the thing that a ship’s captain would use to log his journey. I like your idea of names in the journal being transported. You should totally write that story!

      I’m trying to keep my writing very neat in my new journal because I don’t want it to ever feel disgraced. XD

  2. Congrats on the job! 😀

  3. Don’t feel too bad about the short story. You have to submit a lot of times to win. Just like with job hunting!

    Speaking of, congrats on the new job!! Will we get to hear what it is?

    • Yeah, I don’t feel to bad about it. There will be other opportunities.

      I’ll be working as a Business Systems Analyst for a commercial insurance company. Probably doesn’t sound very exciting, but I realised within the past year that this is what I want to be when I grow up (as well as an author and an astronaut) so I’m super happy to be finally heading in the right direction.

Have something to say? Please get in touch!

