storytimewithbuffy

Eat Pretty

In Book Reviews on August 17, 2014 at 6:00 am
Chronicle Books LLC 2014

Chronicle Books LLC 2014

 

This is a bit of a departure from my usual fare of science fiction, fantasy and horror. Okay, it’s a complete departure actually. I picked up this book during a lunch hour foray into Urban Outfitters with some colleagues.

Yep, you read that right. I got this book from a clothes store. Because if there are books in a shop, I will find them. Oh yes. I will.

Anyway, I picked it up and flicked through the pages and it looked really interesting.

But before I talk about the book, here’s a little bit of back story on my weight.

I’ve always been skinny. I come from a family of skinny genes and this caused me a lot of grief because I used to get picked on for it. A lot. Chicken legs, string bean, bean pole… These were my nicknames. Because kids suck.

The upside to this was that I could eat ANYTHING. And I frequently did. People would say rude things to me like “Girl, I just want to feed you a cheeseburger” and I was like “Bitch, please. I’ve just eaten two double quarter pounders with large fries and a large coke. And about 13 cupcakes, so step off.” I was so tiny that I had to get a weight waiver when I joined the Air Force because I only weighed 94 pounds. It was in my late teens and my early twenties that I finally felt vindicated for all of the hassle that I got in school because of my weight. I finally didn’t look sickly.

But, because I never learned to control my eating habits I started gaining weight in my late twenties/early thirties. I could pack away a large pizza by myself like a pro. Unfortunately, it was during that time that I gained 15 pounds or so. Every year since then, I see a bit more squishiness added to my frame and I don’t really like it. Where is the lithe girl with the tiny waist and only one chin? She’s gone, folks. Long gone.

Don’t get me wrong. There is no way that I could be described as fat or even chunky. But as I get older I realise that I don’t take care of myself as well as I should so when I saw this book, I jumped on it.

The thing I like about it is that it tells you, in detail, about foods to eat to keep you pretty and it tells you why. Because guess what. There’s science behind it! I love reading about the different vitamins in various fruits and vegetables and what they do for you. Yes, I can find these things on the internet, but it’s much more handy to have it here at my fingertips to read as and when.

There’s a section for each season and what you should be eating and focusing on during that time. There are also some healthy recipes for each season.

The book talks about foods that are beauty betrayers (like cooked meat and sugary stuff) and how they mess up the equilibrium in our bodies.

I’m not the kind of person that can implement all of the suggestions in this book. I am a carnivore to the core of my being. I liked meat. Rawr! And I’m not willing to give up junk food. I can happily dive into a bag of nacho cheese Doritos and don’t even get me started on red velvet cupcakes. But I’m more aware of the choices I make when choosing what to eat now. I’ve been eating more vegetables and cutting back on junk food. I don’t feel the need to have it every day. But if I do decide to eat some Oreos, I’m going to do it guilt free.

The decision to change things about oneself is a personal one. But it’s great to have the facts at hand so that I can make informed choices. That is why I liked this book.

  1. I was like you too and I was like how did this happen? It wasn’t like I was over-eating or anything like that but it boiled down to simply getting older and my metabolism changing so I could no longer eat what I wanted without piling on the pounds. Certain other factors contributed too like I wasn’t able to walk for around 7 months and I was also unhappy for a time. So, it was time for a change. I cut down on the crap and are healthier. There was no immediate change to my weight. It all happened very, very gradually. I didn’t even notice until one day I realised my size 12 (US 8) jeans were hanging off me! I’m now back into a size 8 (US 4) and really happy. šŸ™‚

    I’m definitely gonna go check out this book. Hopefully it can help me to carry on eating the right things. šŸ™‚

    • I find that I eat a lot of junk because it’s quicker than making something with veggies. I toggle between size 12 and 10 (but lean more towards 12) so hopefully in time I’ll be able to have the same success as you. Well done! I feel like I have more energy when I cut down on the sugar as well. Baby steps. šŸ™‚

      • Oh yes just take baby steps and eventually you’ll see the results. For so long I didn’t think it was working but I guess it just took my body time to adjust. I totally agree with you about junk food. In fact this week for me has been pretty bad. I have barely eaten healthy at all and need to get back on track. I daren’t even weigh myself lol.

      • Me too, last week! Weakness, thy name is chocolate.

Have something to say? Please get in touch!

