storytimewithbuffy

Old Man’s War

In Book Reviews on June 8, 2014 at 6:00 am
Tor 2005

Tor 2005

I did two things on my seventy-fifth birthday. I visited my wife’s grave. Then I joined the army.

I love John Scalzi. I really do. This is only the second book of his that I’ve read, but I’m now officially a fan girl. (Here’s a link to my post on Redshirts.)

Nutshell blurb: Mankind has expanded and colonised other planets in outer space. Once people on Earth turn 75, they have the option to join the military to fight aliens and to protect colonists.

It’s quite interesting that a military would want 75 year olds to join its ranks and I certainly won’t spoil anything for you by telling you why. What I will tell you is why I love Mr. Scalzi’s writing so much. He has the power to make me snicker (Out loud. On my morning commute.) and cringe at the same time. He has a brilliant sense of whimsy and he doesn’t mince around his story. He embraces the ridiculous and runs with it. And it works.

There are so many times when I read a sci-fi book and get lost in scientific detail. This certainly has a lot of detail in it, but it’s accessible to those of us who aren’t able to grasp some heavy scientific explanation.

I don’t really feel like I can say much more about it without spoiling it. I will say that I loved it, it was super fun and that I’ll be reading more of his work.

If you don’t already know, he has a blog which is great if you’re a fan of his writing.

  1. I have this one on my TBR list. It came highly recommended because I loved Leviathan Wakes by Corey – which btw I think you would totally enjoy if you haven’t read it yet. I’m glad to know this one is worthwhile too. 🙂

    • Definitely read it! I loved it so much. Leviathan Wakes is on my tbr list. It’s been recommended to me by several people so I definitely want to read it. Thanks and let me know what you think if you read Old Man’s War!

  2. I’m a loyal reader of Scalzi’s blog, though I’ve yet to read his books – apparently yet another author whose publishers haven’t heard there are SFF fans in South Africa. I suppose I’ll have to capitulate and start buying ebooks of his novels.

    • Oh no! That is a travesty! I hope you’re able to get your hands on his books in some way. I’ve only read two of his so far but I love them. He has such a great writing style.

  3. Good taste you have, oap orgies !!! What aboutthe book ‘ forever war’ ?

    • I haven’t read that one yet. Is it any good?

      • I thought it was great, think its split into a couple of books – i read the omnibus edition – bit like starshiptroopets/ stargate/ If your into that sorta thing.
        Latest audio book i recommend … ‘The need for kill’ is pretty well matched to edge of tomorrow

      • That sounds great. I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for the recommendation!

      • Think they are called forever war, forever free , forever peace…looking it up on goodreads.

  4. […] never read any of John Scalzi’s work, I would suggest reading a different one first such as Old Man’s War. I really enjoyed this book, but I don’t know if I would be as much of a fan girl if I had […]

Have something to say? Please get in touch!

