storytimewithbuffy

Dune Messiah

In Book Reviews on March 16, 2014 at 8:49 pm
Victor Gollancz 1971

Victor Gollancz 1971

Nutshell blurb: Paul Atreides is all grown up and ruler of a vast amount of planets. And now, pretty much everyone is out to get him.

I was decidedly underwhelmed by this book. I was completely blown away when I read Dune and was super excited to read the follow-up book. I looked for it every time I went to the library but finally ended up breaking down and buying it.

The premise sounded great. Plots upon plots, the return of a friend as a ghola and a rich world with interesting characters. But somehow I felt that there was something lacking in the execution. It just didn’t grab me.

This could be partly why I’ve been going through a reading rut lately (as I mentioned in a previous post). This book was a hard slog for me, but it was deceptively exciting. I kept thinking that something was going to happen if I just read a few more pages, but alas…

I’ve heard that the next book is better so I think that I’ll give it a chance. It seemed to be the general consensus (according to the reviews on Goodreads) that this book is a somewhat weak bridge between the first book and the next.

I certainly hope so.

  1. It is definately best to read Dune Messiah and Children of Dune very close together, as though they are the same book — Looking forward to what you think of God Emperor of Dune! I finally read that, I’m working on Chapterhouse: Dune next. 🙂 Have you seen the mini-series? They also combined Messiah and Children. I enjoyed it, but that was also, like, almost seven years ago that I read and watched it.

    • Yes I seem to remember watching Children of Dune Ashes app. I remember a very young James McAvoy in it. I think it might be a while before I continue with the series, though. It took me ages to get through the last one. I can’t handle another right now. It’s too soon. 😀

  2. I read this back in college (won’t say how long ago that was) and seem to remember feeling the same way. Loved Dune, but was underwhelmed with the one after. Think I continued on through the 4th or 5th book.

Have something to say? Please get in touch!

