storytimewithbuffy

Reading Rut

In Library Day on February 16, 2014 at 3:52 pm
??????????????????????????????

I think I’m doing it wrong.

 

So, I’m in a bit of a rut when it comes to the books I’m reading at the moment. It seems like I keep having to put down things that look really good but have turned out to be super dull. Obviously, I’m not going to name names. That’s not how I roll. But it’s starting to be a big problem. Nothing seems to be gripping me and I don’t like it.

If you don’t know this by now, reading is kind of my thing. It’s my favourite past time (and it’s pretty much the only thing that makes my commute bearable). Lately, I find myself listening to music and staring into the distance rather than reading and it makes me really sad because I’m not sure what the problem is.

The beginning of the year started out great and at one point, I was 7 books ahead of my reading schedule on Goodreads. As of this very moment, I’m 2 books behind schedule. That is very un-Buffy.

I’ve been giving it some thought about why this is happening and hope to get to the bottom of it. I think that one of the problems is over-saturation of a certain genre that I was once in love with. I’m looking at you Steampunk. There are so many of these books on my tbr list and lately I’ve just been picking them up and putting them right back down. I’m not sure why. I love Steampunk! Perhaps it’s the selection lately. The ones I’ve picked up seem a bit samey and not at all thrilling. There was one I was really keen on reading and I finally bought it (BOUGHT it, mind you. It’s not from the library!) and it turned out to be super disappointing. I think that I’ll have to leave the Steampunk books alone for a while. Perhaps if I move on to something new, I’ll be able to come back to it with fresh eyes another time.

As you may remember from last week’s post, I recently abandoned editing my first novel and the genre is, you guessed it, Steampunk. So perhaps there’s something psychological going on there.

Whatever the problem is, it’s getting tedious. I want to read a good story, no matter what the genre is.

Hopefully I’ll get this sorted out soon, my bloggy friends. I want to be able to talk to you about books!

  1. Poor you! I think you’re right, a change in genre might sort you out. I’ve done the same ting, overread a genre until you can see all the plot twists coming and you start spotting lots of similarities. It ruined fantasy books for me but I’ m getting back into them now. I’m a bit more cautious about sticking to one genre these days!

    I hope you find something that appeals to you soon 🙂

  2. I totally get this! I love reading classics, but I couldn’t read one after the other. Same with fantasy and chick-lit, I guess. Variety is key! Although I do know people who read nothing but crime/thriller novels and have never hit a rut (not yet anyway)

  3. I hit my first ever reading rut last year, it was a shock to the system! I never thought I could tire of or feel indifferent to reading but I did go through a patch where I was frustrated and underwhelmed with every book that I picked up. I think part of the reason was that I was a bit exhausted and fed up emotionally and the feeling spread right through into my reading. Maybe that’d where the issue with novel 1 comes in? The other reason was because I was unlucky enough to hit a patch of mediocre books, which never helps!

    Similarly to Books on the Tube, I think the best way to get out of a reading slump is to pick up a novel completely out of your comfort zone or normal reading habits. Sometimes shaking things up even with one unusual read is enough to relight the bookworm fire within! Another technique I have often tried is to reread an old favourite. You know your guaranteed a good read and I find it reminds me of the reasons I love fiction. 🙂 The third and less fun option is to go cold turkey and give reading a complete break. If you spend a long time focusing on one thing you do tend to get sick of it, no matter how much you love it!

    Hope you find a way out of your rut, good luck. 🙂

    • Thank you for your suggestions! I think that the problem was that there were a few things going on in my personal life that I needed to sort out. I was also not picking out books that were very good. I’m now reading some that have completely caught my attention and I’m getting back on track. Hopefully this will never happen again. 🙂

  4. […] Storytime With Buffy talks about her Reading Rut […]

  5. […] be partly why I’ve been going through a reading rut lately (as I mentioned in a previous post). This book was a hard slog for me, but it was deceptively exciting. I kept thinking that something […]

Have something to say? Please get in touch!

