storytimewithbuffy

Heat Wave

In Book Reviews on January 26, 2014 at 6:00 am
Hyperion 2009

Hyperion 2009

I must inform you that I’m about to go into super-charged fan-girl mode. I LOVE the tv show Castle. I’ve only seen the first two seasons so far, so if you decide to make any comments, no spoilers please.

So recently, I was on the internet looking at something completely unrelated and one thing led to another and I found out that the Derrick Storm and Nikki Heat books actually exist! I’m not gonna lie. That made my damn day. (I do realise that I’m behind the times on this. I don’t like to look up stuff that I like on the internet for fear of spoilers. Yes, that’s how much I hate them.)

Nutshell blurb: Who cares??? This is a book written by Rick Castle!! (Told you I was going to fan-girl it up today.)

I was thrilled to pieces to start reading Heat Wave. It actually has Nathan Fillion’s Richard Castle’s picture in the back as the author. Such a meta moment for me.

So, as I was saying, I love Castle. The focus of the show is on the characters rather than the homicides or the procedure of solving crimes. My favourite interplay is that between Castle, Ryan and Esposito. So many giggles!

Anyway, as I read this book, I really felt as though it was written by Castle. The characters in the book were slightly more exaggerated but they, as well as some of the situations in the book, were recognisable from the show.

The story itself was fun and didn’t take itself too seriously. It read pretty much like an episode of the show.

Nikki Heat is fantastic. She’s a bit harder in the book and somewhat less vulnerable. As Castle said in one of the episodes, she’s tough, savvy and a little bit slutty. So, not entirely like Kate Beckett.

I love that these books exist and I feel that I must read the others. So much of the show is spent talking about these books and I love that this made the characters in the show feel a bit more real.

Perhaps it’s a gimmicky way to make money, but I don’t really care. I love it for what it is and I’ll go back for more.

 

  1. You’re only on season 2? And I thought I’m the one living in a third-world country šŸ˜‰

    I’ve been ambivalent about the books (which are most definitely just a marketing gimmick), but the way you describe it it just might be worth my time. I especially want to read the Derrick Storm graphic novel. I’ve never been much into graphic novels and comics (except for Asterix the Gaul) and I think that would be a good place to start.

    Enjoy your journey through Castle. You still have many surprises to come.

    • I’ve only watched up to season 2 because I don’t watch tv. I have to see it on Netflix. But since I love it so much I’ll buy it… Once pay day rolls around. šŸ˜€

      I definitely want to read some Derrick Storm stuff too. It’s definitely gimmicky and it’s fluffy but it’s fun.

  2. I love Castle too! I’ll get round to reading one of the books at some point, they sound so much fun! I was so confused when I found out they existed. Lol!

  3. I haven’t read any of the Nikki Heat books but I do like Castle. I just might have to move this up on my TBR after this review šŸ™‚

  4. I love, love, LOVE Castle. I love how it’s a murder mystery series, but every now and then you get an episode that just takes you in a completely different direction. I love the Firefly references they keep sticking in. I love Rick Castle, I love Kate Beckett, I love Alexis… You get the idea.
    Have you seen the steampunk episode yet? It’s fantastic, especially the bit with the squirrel. =)

  5. I read the first Rick Castle book and thought ‘meh’… But then I don’t read mysteries normally anyway. I do really enjoy the show though. And I find it easier to think of Ryan and Esposito as Riley and Ochoa (Roach) — was it Riley? Anyway, I find it easier to think of them as Roach than to actually remember their in-show names. ā¤

    • I don’t really read them either. If I had read this without knowing about the show I’m not sure how much I would have liked it.

      I didn’t like the term Roach for them. I think they’re too brilliant individually for such a horrible name. This is why I love the show so much. There are so many interesting characters rather than one or two main ones who are surrounded by cardboard cutouts.

  6. I’m glad you liked this, I don’t think I’ll ever get around to reading them. šŸ˜›

  7. Only done episode 1 , season 2 next week – but a great find

Have something to say? Please get in touch!

