storytimewithbuffy

Mouse Guard: The Black Axe

In Book Reviews on January 19, 2014 at 11:09 am
Titan Books 2013

Titan Books 2013

This book was another Christmas gift from my beloved hubby. I bought the other two Mouse Guard books years ago and fell in love with them.

This is another case where a graphic novel has swept me away with its beauty and charm. I want more. I don’t want to live in a world where there are ONLY three Mouse Guard books.

Ok, that’s a little bit dramatic but these books are gorgeous. They feature mice, ferrets and other woodland creatures in their own little medieval setting. These mice are fierce. And honorable. And they carry swords.

As the title of this book suggests, this is the story of the Black Axe who features as a legend in the first two books. This is the story of how he came to be.

I found this story far deeper and more heart-rending than the first two and I felt a bit sad when I finished it. (Not just because I didn’t want it to end, although I did feel a bit sad because of that.) There was so much pain, sacrifice and loss in this story and the accompanying illustrations made it even more poignant.

I would say that if you’re going to read this, skip the introduction as there’s a spoiler in there. It kind of ticked me off to read that before starting the story. I hate spoilers with so much passion. Darn you, Terry Jones!

This book is amazing and one that I’ll read over and over again.

  1. Ooh I haven’t read ‘Mouse Guard’ before, but your description made me think of the Redwall series by Brian Jacques (I used to read Redwall books all the time in school). I was recently telling a friend about it and they just gave me this look like it’s weird to read books about mice and ferrets and other small animals having battles with swords and bows and things….. Oh well, their loss

    • I actually haven’t read Redwall yet, but I’ve wanted to for a long time. It sounds like it’s right up my alley. And you’re right…some people will never understand. 😀

  2. I’ve seen the Mouse Guard titles around but wasn’t aware that they were worth looking into. Many thanks for sharing!

Have something to say? Please get in touch!

