storytimewithbuffy

Absolutely On Purpose

In Book Reviews on January 15, 2014 at 6:00 am
Self-published by Stephanie Holland under Purple Moor Press 2013

Self-published by Stephanie Holland under Purple Moor Press 2013

To hell with the rules. This is a choose-your-own-adventure story. It’s your story.

I’ll start by letting you know that I received a free copy of this books in exchange for an honest review.

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but I’m a big fan of self-help books. I am all about self-improvement in an effort to make myself a better person. Like any other genre, you have wade through a lot of crappy ones to find the gems but when you do, it makes it all worth it.

This book was really inspiring. The thing I liked about it the most was that it encourages deep introspection to help you figure out who you are and how you can find your purpose.

The aspect that I couldn’t relate to very well is that the author is inspired by yoga and so there is a lot of discussion and there are testimonials about yoga from people who embrace it as a lifestyle. I’ve taken some yoga classes and, even though I enjoyed it, I must say that I’ve never been inspired to change my life because of it. As a stick girl who is not at all bendy (Seriously, I can’t even touch my toes!) I find yoga to be somewhat stressful and taxing towards the end of a class. I do understand that it’s also a philosophy and more than just contorting one’s self into various tortuous positions, but, as I said, I can’t really relate to it.

However, it doesn’t matter about any of that as far as this book is concerned. Yoga was the motivating factor behind Ms. Holland deciding to change her life and write this book. It’s got a lot of great stuff in it. Stuff that I will refer back to from time to time.

I especially loved the workbook section, which makes up most of the book. This is where she encourages you to look really hard and honestly at yourself. I only read through the exercises the first time around but I intend to go back and do them properly later.

The exercises are fairly straight-forward in that she has you list specific things about your personality and your habits and to really analyse why you do and think the way that you do. It’s not really that easy, though. In order for it to be effective, you must be really honest with yourself and that can be extremely difficult. It’s sometimes hard to admit our flaws.

I’m looking forward to going back through this section and really answering the questions in detail.

I’m glad that I read this book. I found it inspiring and it gave me a bit of direction on my voyage of self-discovery.

  1. Yoga is literally a means to an end, created to improve one’s ability to Meditate from Tantric Buddhism. It really isn’t for everyone. Should you want to do something physical and relaxing along the same lines, Tai Chi is recommendable. As for myself, I’m not a fan of self-help books for a reason you mentioned: “Like any other genre, you have wade through a lot of crappy ones to find the gem…” I just don’t have the patience. I’m glad you do. πŸ™‚

    • It definitely isn’t for everyone, but it was cool to see how much it inspired the author. I do love self-help books. I find it interesting to see how people handle their problems and sometimes they have great ideas that I haven’t thought of. I’ll put something down really quickly if it seems gimmicky or false as I don’t want to waste my time. But I guess I could say that I do that with all books. πŸ™‚

  2. Adding this one to my to-read list! Have you tried taking a vinyasa flow class? It’s faster-paced so you’re not struggling to hold poses forever. Lol.

Have something to say? Please get in touch!

