storytimewithbuffy

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

In Book Reviews on January 8, 2014 at 6:00 am
Marvel Worldwide Inc 2008

Marvel Worldwide Inc 2008

 

This book was one of my Christmas presents given to me by my wonderful hubby. I had seen it knocking around the comic book shop for quite some time but never got around to buying it.

Now I own it and it’s everything I hoped and dreamed it would be. I was drawn to it because of the gorgeous art style. It is sumptuous! It took me quite a few days to read it because each panel is a visual feast and, frankly, I didn’t want to finish it. It’s too beautiful to ever end!

I’ve actually never read the novel by L. Frank Baum and haven’t been in a terrible hurry to do so. Until now. I really want to pick it up as soon as possible.

There is an author’s note in the beginning about how this project came to exist and it turns out that Mr. Shanower is a hardcore Wizard of Oz fanboy from his early days. He based his adaptation on the novel which seems to be quite different to the film that we’ve all grown up with. Of course, it makes sense that he would do this but my only exposure to this story was the film and I had no idea that they were so different.

There are no ruby slippers (I suppose that red looks better in technicolor) and the flying monkeys are bound by a spell to an enchanted cap.

I loved everything about this book. It’ll definitely be one that I re-read several times and I’m also going to keep my eye out for some prints to hang on my walls. I’m looking forward to picking up the next installment.

  1. I’m somewhat allergic to both musicals and old books, so this graphic novel retelling of the story would actually be ideal for me.

  2. Told my hubby that this should be my Birthday or Christmas present this year!

Have something to say? Please get in touch!

