storytimewithbuffy

He Blinded Me With SCIENCE!

In Uncategorized on November 17, 2013 at 11:43 am
The Science Museum in London

The Science Museum in London

Hello there, bloggy friends! Hope your weekend is going well. My weekend has been really nice.

Just a bit of background before I tell you about it. Mr. Buffy is a freelance cinematographer, so when work comes along, he pretty much has to take it. Well, work has been coming a long quite steadily (which is good) but a lot of that work has been happening on weekends (kind of sucky). With me working a 9 to 5 Monday through Friday job and him working something like 18 weekends in a row, we haven’t seen each other much lately. Ok, I’m being dramatic. It has only been 4 or 5 weekends in a row. It feels like a lot though.

Anyway, I was thrilled to find out that he was finishing up some work on Thursday night and would then have three days in a row where he didn’t have to work. Three days, people!

The obvious thing for me to do was to take Friday off so that we could spend them together. So I did. And we decided it would be fun to head into London for some sight-seeing and shopping.

Our first stop was the Science Museum. It’s been a few years since we last went there so off we went.

My favourite part was the space stuff. There were lots of rockets and space shuttle parts. There was even a small piece of the moon. There was a floor dedicated to genetics and what makes us who we are. There were a lot of interactive booths, mostly for kids, but we pushed them out of the way. We got to see what we would look like as elderly people. The software wasn’t really great. They pretty much just put lines on my face and gave me kinky grey hair.

I'm going to relish my role as a grumpy old lady!

I’m going to relish my role as a grumpy old lady!

The hubs pressed the button to see what he looked like as a baby and it was super creepy because it didn’t edit out his beard. I wish we had gotten a picture of that!

Anyway, after the museum, we went for lunch and then we went shopping and ended up at my favourite store: Forbidden Planet!!! I bought Wonderbook by Jeff Vandermeer because it’s gorgeous.

A must have for anyone who writes sci-fi or fantasy. and it was Β£2 off!

A must have for anyone who writes sci-fi or fantasy. and it was Β£2 off!

Like I said, it was a good day.

We spent Saturday at home together. We had a massive cleaning session and then chilled out. Oh and FYI to my male readers: DO NOT underestimate how attractive you are while you are cleaning the house. I’m just putting that information out there, free of charge. Do with it what you will.

So, that was my weekend. I hope yours was nice too!

Oh and here’s the video that inspired my blog title. This song runs through my head any time I think about the Science Museum.

Come back on Wednesday as I’ll have a book to talk about with you!

  1. I don’t think that cleaning thing applies to me: I do the laundry every week and the wife has yet to jump me because of it πŸ˜‰

    Glad you got to spend some quality time together. That book looks very nice. Have fun with it.

  2. Sounds like a wonderful weekend, so glad you enjoyed it πŸ˜‰ One of my favorite places as a child and an adult is the National Air & Space Museum in Washington D.C. Being fascinated by all things aviation, it is a virtual playground for my mind!

    And I love the book by Jeff Vandermeer. It looks so incredibly inviting. I am intrigued. Best wishes for an inspired day and many more free weekends to spend with Mr. Buffy πŸ™‚

    • Ooh! I grew up near DC and I loved going to the museums there too! I had a lot of school trips there as well as ones with my family. There’s just something cool about museums. They’re almost as awesome as libraries!

      The book is pretty awesome. I definitely recommend it. It’s a visual feast! It’s definitely not like your standard ‘how to write’ book. It’s more about challenging and nurturing your creativity. The inside is gorgeous as there are pictures on every page. I am very pleased with my purchase. I’ll definitely be doing a blog post on it once I’ve finished it.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Great to read you’re having a wonderful long weekend with the husband. Mine was uneventful until Sunday evening when we had a small birthday dinner for a good friend a few hours ago.

    And THANK YOU for the bit about men being attractive while doing housework. Perhaps I’ll be less cranky while doing it next time. My partner is Mr. Renaissance Man with the natural Midas touch in whatever he does, whether household DIY or gardening and everything else, which suits mostly-clueless me perfectly. It also means I’m left with the manual labour like housecleaning. For example for the dinner earlier, he cooked everything and even baked the cake, while I cleaned the house and set the table, and did the cleaning up afterwards as the artistic one was all spent. But I joke about being cranky. I do enjoy my role, I’m a bit of a neat freak. Cheers.

    • Haha! That’s fantastic! We’re really bad about cleaning and it helps to have massive clean up sessions together otherwise we get too lazy. I cleaned up the kitchen and bathroom and when I went into the living room he had transformed it! It looked so amazing. I had hearts in my eyes. πŸ˜€

      The best part is that he thanked me for doing so much cleaning and said that he’s sure that I did more than him. I was kind of thinking that he did more than me. Are there such things as rose-coloured glasses when it comes to cleaning up?

      Thanks for sharing your experiences too!

  4. The Science Museum is AMAZING! I haven’t been there for years… is the launchpad area still there? I still remember the weird machine with all kinds of conveyor belts and turny things that were used to transport grain into large tubes and stuff.

    I’d definitely be elbowing kids out of the way of that, it was my favourite thing in the entire place back then.

    That music video is rather peculiar.

    • I don’t remember seeing the launch pad, so if it was there I missed it! 😦

      There were lots of steam powered machines near the entrance with descriptions of how they work. That was really interesting.

      I felt like the kids didn’t really appreciate what they were seeing anyway. They had pieces of paper and they were running around trying to find answers to the questions on them. So, I didn’t feel bad for pushing them out of the way.

      Yes, it is a peculiar video. I remember it being on MTV when I was younger. (Now I’m showing my age!)

Have something to say? Please get in touch!

