storytimewithbuffy

Moon Over Soho

In Book Reviews on October 9, 2013 at 6:00 am
Moon Over Soho

Gollancz 2011

For a terrifying moment I thought he was going to hug me, but fortunately we both remembered we were English just in time. Still, it was a close call.

I would like to start off this post by saying that if you haven’t read Rivers of London (aka Midnight Riot in the US, the first book in this series), do that before you read my thoughts on this book.

Go ahead. I’ll wait.

Great, you’re back. Here’s my Nutshell Blurb: London is recovering from Peter Grant’s last case as he starts into the next one. Someone has been going around London killing jazz musicians and leaving traces of magic behind. Obviously, this is a job for a PC who also happens to be a wizard.

Can I just say, I looooooooove me some Peter Grant. He’s intelligent, funny (in a dry, self-effacing way), resourceful and a bit of a smart-ass. He’s perhaps a bit bloke-ish, but it’s more endearing than caveman-esque.

The book is written in 1st person, so I don’t really remember reading much about the way he looks.

But that’s ok. Ladies, you know I’ve got this covered. I remember reading in the first book that he’s of a mixed background and there was a line in this book about his preference for the villain not being called a black magician because he (Grant) could technically be considered one. So my brain has filled in the blanks and this is what I’ve come up with.

This...

This…

...with a dash of this.

…with a dash of this.

OH. YES. PLEASE. I actually don’t care what anyone says after this point. This is what’s in my head and no one can change it for me. Apparently, Rivers of London will be made into a tv show but I don’t know who will be in the cast. All I can say is that they’d better get it right.

Ok, I’ll stop fan-girling now and get on with what I thought about this book.

It’s amazing. Obviously, Ben Aaronovitch is a genius. (Sorry, just a bit more fan-girling, but I’ll stop now. Promise.)

There are river spirits, jazz vampires, cat girls, wizards and spell casting. All in modern day London. I love how much Mr. Aaronovitch loves London. It seems as if he’s familiar with every part of it. As a Londoner, it’s especially fun to recognise the places he describes. Also, this quote from the book:

My dad says that being a Londoner has nothing to do with where you’re born. He says that there are people who get off a jumbo jet at Heathrow, go through immigration waving any kind of passport, hop on the tube and by the time the train’s pulled into Piccadilly Circus they’ve become a Londoner.

Indeed.

The thing I like most about this book (besides the characters, which are always my favourite part of any book) is the author’s whimsical writing style. It seems so effortless and there were so many lines that gave me a giggle throughout the story.

There were a few things that I didn’t think were explained in this book, like who the heck the Pale Lady was. There are two more books after this one so hopefully there will be some explanation. I tore through this book, so it’s altogether possible that I missed something in my speed reading. That’s ok, though, because I didn’t get this one from the library. I treated myself to it (it’s all MINE! Mwahahaha!) so I’ll read it again sometime. These books definitely have a high re-readability factor to them.

I’ve got nothin’ but love for this book and am really looking forward to reading the next two.

  1. Ahhhh I love these books too! And totally agree with everything you say – I think Peter’s hilarious (and I think I’m a little bit in love with him too) and I love the way the supernatural mixes in with the real-life so it’s not at all hard to suspend disbelief. I also love all the London references – The Folly is about 5 minutes walk from where I work and there have been scenes set in two of my local pubs!

    I think this one suffered slightly from a lack of Lesley and also I wasn’t quite as interested in the plot as I was with book 1 but the next book is right back on track. I’m very excited for book 4 but I really need it to be available as a paperback….

    • I missed Lesley too! That’s really cool that you work so close to some of the scenes. It makes it s bit more personal. I’ll be getting the next book as soon as possible! And you’re right, the first book was better but I really loved this one as well. 🙂

  2. Daggit, we only have an e-book version at my library. Of the first book, that is. I haven’t read him yet but you make it sound like fun. Hmmmmm….need a new e-reader first…

  3. I haven’t read this series, but a friend of mine reads them and loves them. I love the covers of this series! They’re so unique and the colours are wonderful. This seems like a really interesting. Is it an urban-fantasy series? Also I approve of Idris Elba and the guy who played Mulder! Loved him in the X-Files!

    • I guess you could call it urban fantasy. It’s set in modern-day London but it has magic in it. (I’m not really up on my sub-genres. It’s far too much pigeon-holing for me.) These books are definitely fun reading.

  4. I missed that video in the email update–that song is on my iPod. No shit.

  5. […] set in London. As with Moon Over Soho (if you haven’t read my post about it, you can find it here) I totally dig the mixture of fantasy with modern day London. There were so many places that I […]

  6. […] this blog, so I haven’t done a write-up on that but if you would like to read my thoughts on Moon Over Soho, please feel free to do […]

Have something to say? Please get in touch!

