storytimewithbuffy

Screw Statistics, I Like the Flags

In Uncategorized on September 28, 2013 at 10:05 pm

Hello there, my friends. So, I haven’t finished a book lately and I’m wondering how I’m ever going to catch up. I’m only almost halfway through Under the Dome by Stephen King.

Such. A. Long. Book.

It’s really good, though. It’s one of those that would be un-put-down-able, except that I have to do things like eat, sleep, work and sustain relationships with human beings. And as much as I love to read, I’m not sure that I could read 880 pages in one sitting.

But, hey. It’s not a race is it? As long as I have other things to talk to you about, I don’t have to finish two books per week.

So, as I sit here with my strawberry/rhubarb peel-off face mask contorting my face and destroying free radicals, I’m going to talk to you about something that makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

Yep, you guessed it. The WordPress statistics page. (Wait…you didn’t guess that?)

Now before you start rolling your eyes and huffing and puffing, let me assure you that it’s not vanity that has prompted this discussion. I’m not about to proclaim my awesomeness by showing you how many people love me because I don’t actually care about the numbers. For those of you who don’t have a WordPress blog, I’ll tell you that WordPress gives us our very own statistics page which features a map and flags. WordPress compiles all of the views of your blog by country.

I can’t even begin to tell you how exciting this is to me. No, I’m not joking.

When I was a little girl, my parents got this huge atlas from National Geographic and I loved that thing so much. I would look at the world and plan all of my trips. Oh it was wonderful! I also went through an artsy stage of my life in my pre-teens when I used to draw a lot. I had this great idea once to draw a map of Africa and then draw the flags on each country so that they fit within the borders. I loved that picture so much and then I started doing Europe but then I got distracted and never finished it. Much like I’m doing now…

Anyway, I love maps and I love flags. I love that a group of people can be united under one piece of fabric. I must admit that whenever I see someone waving around the flag of their country, I feel a tiny bit jealous that it’s not my flag. (Unless it is my flag and then it’s ok.) So yes, I suffer from flag envy. I want all of them to be mine. Mwahahahaha!

Ok, so back to my statistics. Here is what my all-time statistics page looks like as of today:

Stats 28.09.13

Just look at all of those flags!!!! I was ridiculously excited to see this feature when I first started my blog. My husband sometimes gets random texts from me saying things like “I’ve got Viet Nam!” or “Sri Lanka is mine!”.

Please take this moment to feel a little bit sorry for him while I go peel off the strawberry/rhubarb mask.

Ok, I’m back and feeling refreshed. And tingly.

Where was I? Right, flags. Now, there are quite a few countries represented where I actually, physically know someone who lives there. There are also a few countries here who are represented by people I’ve met on my bloggy travels. But there are a few that I’m reasonably sure that I don’t know anyone either in real life or in the blogosphere. I find that fascinating.

I guess this was a really long-winded way of me saying that whatever country you are in right now, thank you for reading my blog. I appreciate you.

  1. I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but if you don’t know someone from that country, is it possible these are referer spam sites? I have quite a few ‘readers’ in Russia, China and Belarus for this reason, but these referer sites don’t actually read my blog. (I don’t think anyone reads my blog, for good reason, but these referer stats throw off any sort of reasonable guess I might make.) Does wordpress offer any sort of middle action for such parasites?

    • Hmmm, that’s an interesting thought. The spammy ones go straight to my spam folder which I can then delete forever. It’s possible that some of them are from those countries. I still like that I have the flags though. I remain undaunted. πŸ˜€

      And I read your blog! It’s just not easy to comment because I have to put all of my information in a form when I want to comment now. There was a time when I could just choose my wordpress account from a dropdown, which made it easier, but it’s changed now. Also, sometimes I just don’t have anything clever to add. πŸ™‚

  2. I share the same fascination. It’s nice to know that I am not alone πŸ˜‰ I remember getting an assignment in grade school that called for researching a country in Africa. Forget about imports, exports, or population demographics. I just wanted to draw the flag πŸ™‚ It’s amazing how each country is given the same rectangular space and use it as a canvas to paint an image that best represents its constituents for the entire world to see.

    Thanks for sharing, this brought back some fond memories πŸ˜‰ Have an inspired day!

    • Thanks for letting me know! I’m also glad that I’m not the only one! haha! It feels a bit weird sometimes when I share these things about me with people I’ve never met. It’s quite a nice memory for me as well. I hope you have an inspired day as well!

  3. I obviously like maps. (Cough cough…obsessive much…) Maybe I should start working on some flags…

    But in response to that comment about spammers… You never know. I check out the pages of the people who Like/Favorite me and they’re from all over. Spammers just comment; hard to say what impact they really have. But there are active WordPressers from everywhere.

    • You certainly are the most prolific mapmaker that I know. I love your maps! And yes, please make some flags as well.

      I always look to see where people who follow/like me live as well. I have quite a few friends in real life who live all over the world and quite a few of those countries are represented. So it’s kind of hard to tell. I’m sure the ones with the higher numbers are actually people who are reading my blog, but it’s hard to tell with the ones with 1 view next to them. Did someone from Trinidad and Tobago look at my blog and not find it interesting enough to come back? Or was it a spammer? It doesn’t really matter to me. I clear out my spam folder regularly and move on with my life. I know that some people read my blog regularly and that’s all that matters to me. Hey, that rhymes!

  4. I am so glad it’s not just me! Just yesterday I was visiting my maps page and shouted to my wife in the kitchen, “I got Tanzania!” It really makes my day every time I see a new country has joined. I’m hoping for a complete set. And now I need to go book myself into a mental facility. See ya!

  5. I love it too!! Especially when countries whose flags I don’t recognise that come up. But my favourite feature is the “search terms” which reveals useful things like the fact that most of my readers coming from search engines actually want a tube map…

  6. Heh I like seeing these too even if they’re doing spammy things. It’s just fun seeing the line of flags, like an old World text book from when you’re a kid.

  7. […] blogger Buffy was just squeeing over how much she likes flags, so I started thinking about my territories’ […]

  8. I love the map too, haven’t checked my “all time” map for awhile so I just did, so cool! I’m at least a few of your “Japan” hits, sorry Japan’s small… but you should write a post about something related to Russia because if you can colour in that country, it’s like half the map! Hahaha!

    • I now have 8 Japan views at this very moment, so thanks for that! I was thinking about how to get some of the more elusive countries and since I write about books, I had thought of reading books from some of these countries. It would be an interesting experiment. Obviously the fact that I don’t speak any other language than English is going to keep me from getting a lot of countries, but you never know.

      Russia would be awesome, but I will tell you that the country I covet having on my map the most is Greenland. πŸ˜€

Have something to say? Please get in touch!

