storytimewithbuffy

Allison Hewitt is Trapped

In Book Reviews on July 21, 2013 at 6:00 am

Allison Hewitt is Trapped

Headline Publishing Group 2011

They are coming and I don’t think we will ever get out.

Yes, I’m posting my thoughts about another zombie book. I refuse to apologise.

I loved this book. It’s a great story and Ms. Roux has a whimsical style of writing that hooked me right away. I also loved the concept.

Nutshell blurb: A zombie outbreak has occurred and Allison Hewitt is trapped in a bookstore with colleagues. She blogs about her experiences of trying to survive.

What? You might ask. How the heck could someone maintain a blog during a zombie apocalypse? And you would be right to ask. I felt that the author did a great job of addressing this issue. Apparently there’s something called SNet that the government and military have implemented in case of an emergency such as the one in this book. The interesting thing about this concept is that the laptop remains at the centre of the action at all times. It is something to be protected otherwise, there’s no story. Ms. Roux does a great job of explaining the continued use of a laptop when there’s no electricity or when the living dead decide to launch an attack on our heroine.

I liked the characters and could sympathise with Allison. My one disappointment (and it’s a little one) is that I felt as though the end was a little too wrapped up for me. It’s not completely tied with a bow, but I felt that the romantic connections were a bit contrived. I don’t want to say anything else as I don’t want to spoil it for you if you decide to read it.

All in all, it was a fun read.

  1. […] Allison Hewitt is Trapped (storytimewithbuffy.wordpress.com) […]

Have something to say? Please get in touch!

