storytimewithbuffy

The Walking Dead Volume 1: Days Gone Bye

In Book Reviews on July 14, 2013 at 6:00 am

The Walking Dead 1

Seventh Printing 2008

It would seem that I’m going through a zombie phase at the moment. I actually started reading this graphic novel after having seen Seasons 1 and 2 of the The Walking Dead on tv. This worried me as I’m always a fan of reading the book before watching the tv/film. In this case, it really doesn’t matter as so far they are quite different from each other. Of course, I’ve only read the first one so I have no idea of what’s going to happen in the subsequent issues. I have noticed that my library has them lined up in numerical order as if they’re just waiting for me.

I’m not entirely sure what’s prompted my zombie obsession these days. I’ve actually read a lot of dystopia in the past year or so and am fascinated by the choices people have to make when the world goes to hell. At first I found the tv show to be sappy and overly sentimental whereas the graphic novel doesn’t dwell on the feelings as much (so far). It is inevitable that I think about the show as I’m reading the graphic novel and now that I’m further along in the series I can appreciate the personal and emotional drama much better. I’m getting really attached to the characters and am terrified for them every time they get into a confrontation.

One of the difficulties that I have with reading graphic novels is that I read super fast. I wouldn’t quite call it skimming, but it’s pretty close. When I first started reading them, I missed so much because the stories really do rely on the pictures (duh, right?) and I would flip through a book and have a only vague idea of what was going on. I love graphic novels and manga, though, so I’ve had to teach myself to slow down when reading them over the years. It’s really difficult to change one’s reading style. Pictures = slow the heck down, Buffy. It’s worth it though. I would have missed out on a lot of good stories otherwise.

I really enjoyed the first issue of this series and will probably pick up more than one on my next visit. I might also share my thoughts on several at a time so that I have more to say.

  1. I know what you mean about skimming graphic novels. I got the two compendiums, which collect the issues into to 48-issue volumes (they’re huge!) The first one I stretched out to a week, but the second one I had read half in about 2 hours! I do love them though, especially that they’re similar to the show but very different as well so there are still a lot of surprises in store.

    • I saw the compendiums in Waterstones a couple of weeks ago. I was tempted to buy them but I wanted to read them first to make sure I like them. For now I’ll have to make do with the single issues since the huge one is Β£44. I wasn’t ready to take that kind of hit. πŸ˜€ I’ll probably end up buying it eventually. I love that I got a big surprise at the end of the first one. I’m looking forward to seeing what else will happen. Good stuff!

  2. We have the compendiums at my library, and I just recently finished reading the first one. I’m not so into zombie movies/stories but I’m very into comics and manga, so I tried it without having seen the show. Worthwhile.

    (Mind you, I had watched play-throughs of one of the Walking Dead games, the one put out by TellTale games. I highly recommend either playing it or watching one [or more] of the many play-throughs on youtube. It’s an extremely effective story, with player choices driving a lot of what happens throughout the course of the game. Number two is coming out soonish and just had a DLC to bridge the gap, which was also good if short.)

    • The hubs and I have been playing the game too. It’s fantastic! We only play it when we’re together so we share the decision making. We were happy to find out that we both tend to make the same choices so if there ever is a zombie apocalypse we’ll work really well together. πŸ™‚

  3. I have the entire “Walking Dead” on my bookshelf, borrowed from a friend, but I haven’t been able to get through it! I had to stop because it gaves me nightmares, and daymares… I have a very active imagination. (>_<)

    • Yes, I get nightmares too, sometimes. I think that it comes with the territory. πŸ™‚

      My favourite books are the ones that spark some kind of emotion. The stronger the emotion, the more I’ll like it. Even fear.

      I also find that this stuff sparks my imagination. Thanks to my zombie-tastic taste in books lately, we now have several options for egress should zombies ever attack our flat. You can’t be too prepared, you know?

      • Definitely. But if the zombie apocalypse happens while I’m living in Japan, I’m screwed. Population density, paper-thin walls (literally) and all that. If it doesn’t start here, though, there’s hope – Japan can just go back to being a closed-off island nation. Unless they’re the kind of zombies that can breathe underwater…

      • Oh dear… you would be screwed. Let’s hope it doesn’t happen then!

Have something to say? Please get in touch!

