storytimewithbuffy

Library Day

In Library Day on June 18, 2013 at 8:00 pm

Library Day has come back around. And yes, I’m aware that I’ve capitalised it as though it’s a holiday. Even though I only get an hour, it’s like a short holiday away from work. I returned 5 books and came out with 6. That’s fairly typical with me. The worst part about Library Day is that I get super excited about the books I bring home and want to dive into them right away. This is problematic because I still have 4 books at home that I have to read.

So, why, you ask, do I go to the library to get more books if I already have some at home to read? Two reasons.

1) I have a fear of finishing my last book and then having my library trek postponed for some reason and being without a book to read. Obviously, this would never ever ever happen as we own a reasonably large amount of books. But what if some apocalyptic event happened and I was stuck in my flat with no new books to read? Or if I came down with some illness that left me bedridden? So many things could happen. It’s best to be prepared.

2) I am a book addict and I HAVE NO SELF CONTROL!

That’s actually the main reason. Also, it’s because they’ll let me. I think that I’m allowed to take out up to 12 books. Or is it 16? It doesn’t really matter. I pick up as many as I can comfortably carry on a 15 -20 minute walk back to work.

Some of today’s collection are on my TBR list (which on Goodreads is up to 128 at the moment) and a couple I just picked up because they looked interesting. So here they are:

The Trial   Tamar   Gone   Blonde Bombshell   Tank Girl   King Lear

Have you read any of these? If so, did you like it/them? (No spoilers please!)

 

  1. Ooo, Tank Girl. You’re lucky you don’t live in my library district. We let customers take out 30 items at a time.

Have something to say? Please get in touch!

