storytimewithbuffy

Currently Reading…

In Library Day on June 10, 2013 at 8:00 pm

Life as we Knew it

I finished The Last Wish on Friday (thoughts on the book to come) and have started a new commute book. I don’ t know about you, but I find it very exciting to start a new book. I’ve started reading Life as we Knew it by Susan Pfeffer. Unlike the previous post-apocalyptic book I read, this one is very much YA . There’s nothing wrong with that, but talk about shifting gears. In my last post, one of the critiques I made was that the fifteen year old boy seemed older than his age. In this book, the protagonist is a sixteen year old girl and so far she sounds very much like a sixteen year old girl. I’m actually finding her kind of annoying. (Yes, I know. I’m never happy.) To be fair, I was pretty annoying when I was sixteen. I’m reasonably sure that I’m not the intended demographic for this book, but the story is good so far, so I’ll stick with it. Unless, of course, the character becomes TSTL. (For those of you not up on the lingo, that stands for Too Stupid To Live.)

Only time, and a few more commutes, will tell. I shall let you know my thoughts anon.

 

  1. Hmmm, that is definitely not the cover we have at my library. Must say it looks a lot less classy.

  2. I recently listened to the audio book version of Life As We knew It and if you think the narrator is annoying to read, imagine listening to her! That was tough to get used to but I thought it was a fairly interesting read.

    • Oh dear. That doesn’t sound good at all. I think that this book is too far outside of my age range. I don’t hate it or anything, but it’s not wowing me.

      • I know what you mean. It was entertaining enough but not spectacular. Initially, I considered reading the other books in this series but I decided against it.

      • I’m reasonably sure that I won’t read them either. I think that 16 year old me would have liked it much better. Yeesh…I’m getting old. haha!

Have something to say? Please get in touch!

