storytimewithbuffy

Currently Reading…

In Library Day on June 5, 2013 at 6:44 pm

It’s very rare that I finish my commute book and my home book at the same time. In fact, I think that this was the first time that’s happened. Weirdness. Anyway, I now have two different books on the go.

The Red ChamberMy home book is The Red Chamber by Pauline Chen. According to the author’s note, this book was inspired by Dream of the Red Chamber by Cao Xueqin and is “widely considered the most important work of fiction in the Chinese literary tradition”. I’ve recently developed an interest in re-tellings as I’ve been knocking around the idea of writing one in the future. Too soon for details but I want to read as many as possible to get a feel for what other people have done.

The Last WishMy commute book is The Last Wish by Andrzej Sapkowski which is the book which inspired the video game The Witcher. It’s sort of a series of short stories, or quests, tied together in a novel. I’m nearly halfway through it and so far it’s pretty entertaining.

  1. Oh I’m really looking forward to reading The Red Chamber at some point, as well! I’m a fan of Matt’s book blog, and he wrote the review/meditation that introduced me to it: http://mattviews.wordpress.com/2012/11/23/526-the-red-chamber-pauline-a-chen/

    • So far, it’s pretty good. I’m only on page 24 but the writing is beautiful.

      I’ll have to read the blog post once I’ve finished the book, though. I don’t want to risk reading any spoilers. 😀

      I’m quite intrigued by the original work that inspired this. Apparently, it’s a daunting 2500 pages long…

Have something to say? Please get in touch!

