storytimewithbuffy

Currently Reading…

In Library Day on May 26, 2013 at 2:45 pm

I usually have a few books on the go at any given time. I always have a book which I read on my daily commute (Don’t worry, I’m not driving. I take the train.) and one which I read at home. Here’s how I decide…

I usually go to the library and get a pile of 6 or 7 books. I sort them by size and put them on my TBR (To Be Read) shelf by the bed. For my home book, I choose the biggest and my commute book  the smallest.

School's Out Forever    My current “home” book is School’s Out Forever by Scott K. Andrews. A whopping 727 pages. This one might take me a while. I’m already a couple of hundred pages in and wow, it’s pretty stressful, but in a good way.

Ring    My current “commute” book is Ring by Koji Suzuki. Not sure about this one yet. I think that I expected it to be a bit scarier. A lot of the action is happening “off-screen”  and I’m not really a big fan of that. Hopefully it will pick up soon.

I’ll let you know what I think once I’ve finished them.

  1. Not even a blurb to entice us? Why did you pick up an entire book filled with depressing apocalypse novels about (apparently) school-age children living in hellish enviornments?

    *grin* I’m looking forward to you reviews, of course.

  2. I love depressing apocalypse novels about school-age children living in hellish environments. I seem to have been reading quite a lot of those lately. (Although this is probably the most intense one so far.) Perhaps it reminds me that things could always be worse.

    I’m not sure that I want to be responsible for enticing anyone to read this as it’s quite harrowing. 🙂 I’ve read the first book in the omnibus already and have just started on the second. It’s definitely not for the faint-hearted. I hope they never make the film…

  3. How did I not know The Ring was a book?? I’m intrigued by how well it executes; the film scared me half to death in the theater. I’m not sure I’d be brave enough to even try it. Hope it picks up for you!

    • I’m not going to recommend that you read it. I should finish it within the next day and I’ll be doing a blog post on it once I do, so make sure you check it out. It’s not even close to being scary and it’s got some pretty sexist things in it which seem to be prevalent in Japanese literature. I’m going to finish it so that I can give it a fair review, but it’s not looking good so far.

      Then, I’ll watch the film because my husband thinks that it’s pretty good. I’ve never seen it and I’m curious to see the differences.

Have something to say? Please get in touch!

